Flashback: Biden Suggested Trump’s Coronavirus Travel Ban Was ‘Xenophobic’

In response to coronavirus variant concerns, President Joe Biden has placed travel restrictions into the United States. This comes even though he previously attacked former President Donald Trump for being xenophobic for doing the same thing in 2020.

President Donald Trump enforced travel restrictions into the United States from China in reaction to the spread of the coronavirus, prompting Biden to tweet as a presidential candidate last year: “We are in the midst of a crisis with the coronavirus. We need to lead the way with science — not Donald Trump’s record of hysteria, xenophobia, and fear-mongering. He is the worst possible person to lead our country through a global health emergency.”

Additionally, the day before the travel restriction from China, Trump signed a proclamation extending his “travel ban” to six other nations, including Eritrea, the Kyrgyz Republic of Central Asia (Moldova), Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.

In 2017, Trump’s first travel ban was initiated. It also set new criteria for visa applicants and refugees from six majority Muslim countries over concerns that they would not be vetted properly.

Later, Biden tried to take back his xenophobic comment claiming during a debate, saying that he was making a broader argument about xenophobia and not specifically referring to the travel restriction.


In March of 2020, Biden wrote a tweet saying, “A wall will not stop the coronavirus. Banning all travel from Europe — or any other part of the world — will not stop it. This disease could impact every nation and any person on the planet — and we need a plan to combat it.”

Trump’s temporary immigration restriction from select African nations was labeled a “disgrace” by Biden.

Likewise, Vice President Kamala Harris also expressed her displeasure with Trump’s action, calling it “Un-American.”

The Biden administration stated on Friday that it is barring travel to and from the United States from certain African nations in reaction to a new strain of the coronavirus known as the Omicron variant that has been identified.

South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi are among the countries that will be subject to travel restrictions.

As a result of the new variation, the European Union, the United Kingdom, and Israel have all suspended aviation traffic to and from southern Africa.