Nevada State Senate Passes Law That Effectively Destroys The Electoral College

Posted 5.22.2019 by Cameron Shizznit

In an attempt to destroy the Electoral College system of electing the President of the United States, the state Senate of Nevada has passed a bill to award its Electoral College votes to the winner of the nation-wide popular vote instead of the candidate who receives the most votes in Nevada.

The current system, which was set up by the founders of the United States, elects the president based on the number of Electoral College votes that a presidential candidate receives. For most states, the candidate who receives the highest total of votes in that particular state is awarded all of the Electoral College votes for that state.

If Nevada Democratic Governor Steve Sisolak signs the bill, which was passed by the Democrat majority state Senate, the Democrat’s stated effort to destroy the Electoral College will be well underway.

If signed into law, Nevada will become the 15th state to pass a bill to award its Electoral College votes to the nation-wide popular vote winner.

The 14 other states that have signed similar legislation to abolish the Electoral College are: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington state. Washington D.C. has also signed similar legislation. The total number of Electoral College represented by these 14 states is 189.

Nevada, Washington D.C., and the 14 other states previously mentioned have joined the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact, a growing movement to destroy the Electoral College and replace it with a national popular vote.

If enough states join the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact to reach a combined total number of 270 Electoral College votes, then the Electoral College, the process that the founders created in order to protect us from dangerous mob rule, will be effectively abolished.

During the last three presidential election cycles, the Democratic candidate won the popular vote. Democrat Barack Obama won the popular vote during his 2008 and 2012 presidential campaigns. Hillary Clinton, also a Democrat, received nearly 3 million more nation-wide votes over her opponent, Republican Donald Trump, but lost the Electoral College by a wide margin of 304-227.

If the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact achieves its goal of abolishing the Electoral College system and replacing it with a nation-wide popular vote, it is safe to say that a Republican will not win another presidential election for at least another decade, if not ever again.


More from Politics